14 Nominees for RTÉ Sports Personality of the Year

RTÉ Sport unveiled the nominees for the Sports Personality of the Year on Radio 1’s Morning Ireland within the last hour and there is an intriguing blend of diverse stars for the public to vote on.

The reach of RTÉ’s coverage across TV, Radio and Digital is being brought into play for the Awards which will dominate sports coverage over the next eight days.

There are three boxers on the shortlist though no place for the 2016 Winner of the accolade, Conor McGregor, despite his participating in one of the highest profile sports events of the year in his Billion Dollar fight against Floyd Mayweather.

The Awards ceremony will be presented by Darragh Maloney and Joanne Cantwell on RTÉ One at 9.15pm on Saturday 16 December.

The nominees for the RTÉ Sport Awards 2017 Sportsperson of the Year are in alphabetical order:

Rena Buckley, Camogie
The Cork dual star made history by winning an 18th All-Ireland medal. Buckley captained the Cork camogie team to a 27th All-Ireland crown, after a dramatic one-point win over rivals Kilkenny.

Ryan Burnett, Boxing
Won the IBF title in June 2017 before adding the WBA (Super) title in October to become unified bantamweight world champion.

Joe Canning, Hurling
The Hurler of the Year inspired Galway to their first Liam McCarthy Cup since 1988.

Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal, Para Cycling
The duo won two gold medals at the UCI 2017 Para-cycling Road World Championships in South Africa, winning the WB Tandem Road Race and the WB Tandem Time Trial.

Noelle Healy, Ladies Football
The senior Players’ Player of the Year was also named Player of the Match in Dublin’s Ladies All-Ireland senior final victory over Mayo.

James McClean, Soccer
The West Brom winger played a vital part in the Republic of Ireland’s World Cup qualifying campaign, scoring some crucial goals as Martin O’Neill’s men missed out in a play-off.

Michael McKillop, Para Athletics
The Antrim man’s victory in the T37 1500m at the Para Athletics World Championships in London was his ninth World Championship gold medal.

Andy Moran, Gaelic Football
The Footballer of the Year was an inspirational figure for Mayo as the Westerners reached a fourth All Ireland Final in six years.

Conor Murray, Rugby
The Munster and Ireland scrumhalf had a Lions tour to remember becoming the first northern hemisphere player ever to have scored four career tries in tests against the All Blacks.

Paul O’Donovan, Rowing
The Skibbereen man won gold at the lightweight men’s single sculls at the World Rowing Championships in Florida.

Robbie Power, Horse-Racing
The Meath man won the Cheltenham Gold Cup and the Punchestown Gold Cup on Sizing John as well as the Irish Grand National on Our Duke.

Jason Smyth, Para-Athletics
The Derry sprinter claimed double gold at the Para-Athletics World Championships in London winning both the T13 100m and T13 200m.

Katie Taylor, Boxing
The Bray boxer became World Champion winning the vacant WBA female lightweight title in Cardiff in October.

Joe Ward, Boxing
The Westmeath light heavyweight won silver at the World Boxing Championships in Hamburg.

The public can vote either online at rte.ie/sport or by text*. Voting will close on Wednesday 13 December at 5.00pm with the winner announced live on RTÉ One on the night of the Awards.

Nominees and voting details for both the Team of the Year and Manager of the Year awards plus a new category for 2017 Young Sportsperson of the Year will be announced later.

RTÉ Sport Awards 2017, Saturday 16 December at 9.15pm on RTÉ One.

Similar Articles