AIB Honours Camogie Stars

AIB and the Camogie Association, have this morning announced the four Camogie Provincial Players of the Year along with the overall Team of the Year for the 2018/19 season of the AIB All-Ireland Senior Camogie Club Championship.

St. Martin’s Chloe Foxe from Leinster, Inniscarra’s Aileen Sheehan from Munster, Adrahan’s Shauna Healy from Connacht, and Slaughtneil’s Tina Hannon from Ulster have been named as Provincial Camogie Club Players of the Year for their respective provinces.

AIB will recognise the four Camogie stars, amongst their family and friends, at an awards ceremony held at the Croke Park Hotel this week.

The awards provide an opportunity for these players to be recognised for their individual performances, commitment and talent shown throughout this past season. They mirror those awarded to the stars of Men’s Football and Hurling that were presented last week.

The overall team of the year consists of seven players from Champions Slaughtniel and three other clubs.

Jolene Bradley, Slaughtneil
Shauna Healy, Ardrahan
Bróna Ní Chaiside, Slaughtneil
Eilís Ní Chaiside, Slaughtneil
Ciara O’Connor, St. Martin’s
Aoife Ní Chaiside, Slaughtneil
Rena Buckley, Inniscarra
Aileen Sheehan, Inniscarra
Shannon Graham, Slaughtneil
Louise Dougan, Slaughtneil
Tina Hannon, Slaughtneil
Chloe Foxe, St. Martin’s
Linda Bolger, St. Martin’s
Niamh McCarthy, Inniscarra
Rebecca Hennelly, Ardrahan

“We are delighted to be able to recognise these players for their hard work, commitment and talent,” said Camogie Association President Kathleen Woods.

“The 2018/19 season required countless hours of training, travelling and facing tough competition. We are delighted to honour these players for their dedication to the sport, and the level of passion they’ve shown over the past several months.”

“AIB is honoured to be a part of the All-Ireland Camogie Club Championships,” added Maol Muire Tynan, Head of Public Affairs for AIB.

“The teams competing in the competition are a testament to the toughness of the championship and have shown relentless passion and dedication throughout the season. The unwavering support and community surrounding these games proves that it all starts at home in the club.”

AIB have sponsored the All-Ireland Camogie Club Championship for the past six years.

Voted for by a select panel made up of members from the Camogie Association, provincial Camogie councils and AIB, the winning players were selected based on their overall performance throughout the 2018/19 club season.


Similar Articles