Camogie All Star Nominees One Step From New York

All-Ireland champions Galway lead the Camogie All-Stars Awards 2019 shortlist. The final team will be announced at the 16th annual Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance in Citywest Hotel on Saturday October 19th.

This year’s winning team will also have the added incentive of the second All-Stars Tour to New York in November to look forward to, where they will be joined by the 2018 winners.

Galway receive 14 nominations. Goalkeeper Sarah Healy and defenders Heather Cooney, Sarah Dervan, Shauna Healy, Emma Helebert, Tara Kenny and Lorraine Ryan are amongst the nominees for the Tribeswomen. Aoife Donohue and Niamh Kilkenny are nominated at midfield, whilst Noreen Coen, Catriona Cormican, Carrie Dolan, Niamh Hanniffy and Ailish O’Reilly are nominated amongst the forwards.

Runners-up Kilkenny receive 13 nominations. Goalkeeper Emma Kavanagh and defenders Kellyann Doyle, Catherine Foley, Edwina Keane, Claire Phelan and Grace Walsh are amongst the nominees. Meighan Farrell and Davina Tobin have been nominated in midfield whilst Anne Dalton, Denise Gaule, Katie Power, Michelle Quilty and Miriam Walsh are all nominated in the forwards positions.

Tipperary receive nine nominations as a result of their run to this year’s Semi-Finals. Goalkeeper Caoimhe Bourke and defenders Julianne Bourke, Karen Kennedy, Eimear Loughman and Clodagh Quirke are joined by midfielder Mary Ryan and forwards Cáit Devane, Ereena Fryday and Eibhlís McDonald on the nominations list.

Cork receive four nominations having exited the Championship at the hands of eventual champions Galway in the Semi-Finals. Defenders Hannah Looney and Pamela Mackey receive nominations along with forwards Linda Collins and Amy O’Connor.

Waterford, who reached this year’s Quarter-Finals before also losing to Galway have four nominations as well. Lorraine Bray is nominated in defence and Áine Lyng is nominated in midfield. Forwards Beth Carton and Niamh Rockett also receive nominations.

Limerick, who reached the knockout stages for the first time this year, have one nomination in the form of their top scorer Niamh Mulcahy.

Ian Brick (Kerry), Johnny Greville (Westmeath) and Cathal Murray (Galway) are amongst the nominees for Manager of the Year, which will also be announced on the night. Each of them was successful in leading their sides to All-Ireland glory this year. 

“2019 was another exceptional year in the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Championships and the upcoming All-Stars Awards will celebrate some of the outstanding individual performers who contributed greatly to a thoroughly enjoyable summer in what was a great showcase for our game” said Camogie Association President Kathleen Woods.

“An All-Stars Award nomination recognises the outstanding achievements of our players and it is truly deserving for these tremendous role models to receive such recognition for their efforts. I wish to thank our sponsors Liberty Insurance for their continued sponsorship of the Camogie All-Stars Awards and the 2019 All-Stars Tour to New York, which will add even greater excitement to a wonderful night on October 19th.”

“The Camogie All-Stars Awards celebrate the outstanding performances of the players who have helped to light up this year’s Championship,” added Stuart Trotter from Liberty Insurance.

“The skill, commitment and athleticism demonstrated by these players has elevated them to the very pinnacle of their sport. Their All-Stars nominations is deserved recognition for these same performances.”

“Our ‘Camogie Made Us’ campaign, launched in July, focused on the important role Camogie coaches play in the development of players at grassroots level.”

“The nominations we received articulated not only the skills being taught to the players by their coaches, but also the off-the-pitch guidance and mentoring they are providing to players on a more human level. This includes mindfulness programmes and social media awareness workshops, amongst other initiatives.”

“Each of our Camogie All-Star nominees can attest to the pivotal role their coaches have played in helping them to get to where they are today. As our attention now turns towards the All-Stars Tour to New York in November, we wish each of our nominees the very best of luck on October 19th.”


Similar Articles