Corofin Dominate AIB Awards

Corofin duo Gary Sice and Kieran Molloy are joined by Gaoth Dobhair star Kevin Cassidy in the short list announced for the 2019 AIB GAA Club Footballer of the Year award.

The news comes as details have been released of the star-studded selection that makes up the AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards for football – which will be presented at a banquet in Croke Park this coming Saturday evening.

Sice and Molloy were monumental figures for the all-conquering Galway champions who successfully retained their AIB All-Ireland club title in such fine style on St Patrick’s Day – a fourth senior All-Ireland for the club in all.

Goalkeeper Bernard Power, defender Liam Silke, midfielder Daithí Burke and forwards Jason Leonard and Martin Farragher complete the seven strong Corofin representation.
Silke and Farragher were also chosen 12 months ago on what was the inaugural AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards.

Full forward Kevin Cassidy was an inspirational presence for Donegal champions Gaoth Dobhair as they went on the march to a first ever Ulster senior title and an epic semi-final joust with Corofin.

Odhrán Mac Niallais and Odhrán McFadden-Ferry are also representing Gaoth Dobhair on the team.

Elsewhere, history making Leinster champions Mullinalaghta are represented by full back Patrick Fox and wing back Donal McElligott.

Munster champions and All-Ireland finalists Dr Crokes are represented by centre back Gavin White and forwards Kieran O’Leary and Tony Brosnan.

“Every year the club championship produces a treasure trove of highlights; great stories of club endeavour, great battles and inspirational displays and of people and communities making memories to last a lifetime,” said GAA President John Horan.

“These awards look to pay tribute to the stand out performers and our thanks to AIB for enabling us to make this scheme possible.”

“AIB is proud to celebrate its 28th year sponsoring the Club Championships, and to partner with the GAA for the second time for the AIB GAA Club Players Awards,” added Denis O’Callaghan, Head of Retail Banking, AIB.

“The awards celebrate the best performing club players from across Ireland that reached the provincial stages of the AIB GAA Club Championships.”

“Today, we are delighted to announce the AIB GAA Club Football Team of the Year. The passion and commitment shown by these players, as well as the supporters, is something which has brought so much joy to the country nationwide. To be named on the Club Hurling and Football Teams of the Year is a real honour for these players, their families, communities, and clubs.”

The team was chosen by a panel of national and regional media who considered outstanding performances over the provincial and All-Ireland series. The winner of the Footballer of the Year Award will be announced live on Saturday night at Croke Park and presented by Uachtarán John Horan.

The hurling team will be announced tomorrow.

AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards – Football 2019

1. Bernard Power (Corofin)
2. Liam Silke (Corofin)
3. Patrick Fox (Mullinalaghta)
4. Odhrán McFadden-Ferry (Gaoth Dobhair)
5. Kieran Molloy (Corofin)
6. Gavin White (Dr. Crokes)
7. Donal McElligott (Mullinalaghta)
8. Daithí Burke (Corofin)
9. Odhrán MacNiallais (Gaoth Dobhair)
10. Gary Sice (Corofin)
11. Kieran O’Leary (Dr Crokes)
12. Jason Leonard (Corofin)
13. Tony Brosnan (dr Crokes)
14. Kevin Cassidy (Gaoth Dobhair)
15. Martin Farragher (Corofin)

Club Footballer Of The Year Nominees

Kevin Cassidy (Gaoth Dobhair), Kieran Molloy (Corofin), Gary Sice (Corofin)

Similar Articles