Cricket Celebrates a ‘Special Year’

Tim Murtagh and Laura Delany won recognition as the International Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year at the 7th Annual Turkish Airlines Cricket Ireland Awards on Friday night.

In front of a packed house of 120 invited guests, journalists and sponsors, the event MC Rob Hartnett led the ceremony with 19 Awards given out on Irish cricket’s night of nights.

“Tonight we reflect on one of Irish cricket’s biggest years,” said Cricket Ireland CEO Warren Deutrom in his opening speech.

“Most people would probably mark this down as a very good year in our sport. Just consider these highlights alone: the hosting of our inaugural men’s Test match, our senior women’s team qualifying for the World T20, the staging of two sell-out T20 Internationals against India, hosting the ICC conference for the first time, opening our new high performance centre at the Sport Ireland National Sports Campus, welcoming our first female President and securing over one hundred men’s international fixtures over the next four years.”

“For fans of Irish cricket, these are exciting times – more games, greater exposure for our international and domestic structures, and the emergence of new and exciting young talent.”

With a nod to the recently launched 20×20 campaign that aims to raise the profile of, and participation in, women’s sport, Deutrom said:

“My hope is that not too far in the future that talk of ‘the senior squad’ or ‘the World Cup’ is not automatically assumed to be about men.”

“One of my personal highlights of the year was our women qualifying for the World T20 – which was another demonstration of the huge talent among our female cricketers. Neither was it a surprise to see Kim Garth and Gaby Lewis rated by Wisden as among the top 25 young women players in world cricket.”

“I have spent more time this year with the women’s squad – in Zimbabwe, in Amsterdam, and in meeting rooms – and I can’t help but be reminded of the same hunger and determination of our men’s squad a decade ago.”

“Of a group of amateur cricketers playing for all the world like professionals, players making personal sacrifices to play for their country; players desperate to prove they belong on the world stage.”

“The cricket world is growing up in its recognition of women’s cricket, and it’s a responsibility we share. Gradually we are seeing more female leaders in Irish cricket – as President, on our Board and in Executive positions in the national governing body and provincial unions.”

“We need more women and girls in our sport, watching our sport and running our sport. It’s a challenge we have to rise to – not because of some politically-correct token gesture, but because it’s the right thing to do.”

The event, hosted at the historic Royal College of Physicians of Ireland in Dublin, saw nineteen awards handed out.

Test Triangle Male Youth International Player of the Year

Winner: Tim Tector

Devenish Nutrition Female Youth International Player of the Year

Winner: Leah Paul Groundsman of the Year

Winner: Philip McCormick

Oasis Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Harry Rutherford, Bready Cricket Club

Shapoorji Pallonji Male Academy Player of the Year

Winner: Harry Tector

Shapoorji Pallonji Female Academy Player of the Year

Winner: Rebecca Stokell

Frontline Security Official of the Year

Winner: Mary Waldron

Toyota Super 3s Player of the Year

Winner: Lara Maritz

O’Neills Male Club Player of the Year

Winner: John Anderson

O’Neills Female Club Player of the Year

Winner: Isobel Joyce

Tildenet Club of the Year

Winner: Waringstown CC

Emerging Club of the Year

Winner: Adamstown CC

Hanley Energy Men’s Inter-Provincial Player of the Year

Winner: George Dockrell

Sunday Independent Aengus Fanning International Emerging Player of the Year

Winner: Una Raymond-Hoey

Hanley Energy Women’s International Player of the Year

Winner: Laura Delany

Turkish Airlines Men’s International Player of the Year

Winner: Tim Murtagh

The evening also saw a number of Special Awards given to:

Outstanding Contribution and Service to Irish Cricket, in honour of John Wright

Winner: Dr Murray Power

Clear Treasury Contribution to Irish Coaching

Winner: Stephen Dyer

Cricket Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame Award

Winner: Garfield Harrison

The Women’s T20 World Cup gets underway on November 11th with Ireland facing Pakistan, Australia and India in the initial group phase.

Similar Articles