Dubs Claim Seven in PwC All-Stars

Dublin’s dominance of the All Ireland Football Championship is reflected in the news this morning that the team has secured seven places on the PwC All-Star Football team.

The Awards will be presented at the Convention Centre in Dublin tomorrow night when the Hurling selection will be unveiled live as well as the awards for Footballer and Hurler of the Year.

Most of the commentary today will feature on Stephen Cluxton missing out to first-time winner Rory Beggan but the choice of one individual over another is a capricious one and a strong case can certainly be made for why Beggan would have gotten the nod from the Awards panel of selectors drawn from the media.

Dublin’s seven are spread across defence, midfield and attack, with Monaghan claiming three of the remaining eight places, Tyrone two and there being one each for Kerry, Galway and Donegal.

PwC are in the second year of the partnership and this year rolled out an App that allowed us all to pick our own individual team. It is unlikely that very many would have gotten beyond the twelve that I had right upon seeing the team.

Dublin are now second in the roll of honor for All-Star winners in football with 123 all-star awards in football, behind Kerry who still lead the way on 141.

The 2018 representation matches the seven the Dubs also received as champions in 2015 and 2017, ahead of the six received in 2011, 2013 and 2016.

“The PwC All-Stars are a byword for excellence and high standards,” said GAA president John Horan who chaired the selection panel.

“An All-Star is an award that is guaranteed to stand the test of time and those fortunate to be ranked among the best of the best join a most distinguished group of GAA heroes.”

“This is a huge moment in the career of any player, and equally means so much to their families, their counties and also the clubs who set them out on this road.”

“Congratulations to those who have picked up awards this year. I know from personal experience what a huge honour it is to receive an All-Star and what it means to players to be recognised for their outstanding performances throughout the year,” added Gaelic Players Association CEO Paul Flynn.

“Gaelic Football is continuously evolving and the hard work and determination that has been displayed by these players throughout the season is testament to that.”

“As the sponsor of the PwC All-Stars, we are delighted to share in this celebration of excellence in Irish talent,” said Feargal O’Rourke, Managing Partner, PwC.

“We are very proud that several GAA County players, some who are previous All-Star winners, have come through our graduate programme to develop great careers with us.”

The Awards ceremony will be broadcast live on RTE1 this Friday from 7.00pm

2018 PwC Football All-Stars


1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan)


2. Jonny Cooper (Dublin). Previous winner in 2016
3. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone). Previous winner in 2017
4. Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)
5. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)
6. James McCarthy (Dublin). Previous winner in 2014 & 2017
7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2017


8. Brian Fenton (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2016
9. Brian Howard (Dublin)


10. Paul Mannion (Dublin). Previous winner in 2017
11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2016
12. Ryan McHugh (Donegal). Previous winner in 2016
13. David Clifford (Kerry)
14. Conor McManus (Monaghan). Previous winner in 2013 & 2015
15. Ian Burke (Galway)

Similar Articles