Honouring Stars of Ladies Football

Sinead Aherne has been nominated as one of three players on the shortlist for the 2018 TG4 Senior Players’ Player of the year awards in Ladies Football.

Aherne, who is among our 50 Women of Influence in Irish Sport in 2018 and also featured as part of our Game Changer Mentoring Programme with AIG last year, was captain of the All Ireland winners and had a spectacular year in terms of scoring from a personal perspective.

She is joined on the shortlist for the Senior Award by teammate Lyndsey Davey and Cork’s Ciara O’Sullivan.

The winners will be revealed at the 2018 TG4 All-Star Awards Banquet, in association with Lidl, which will be held at the Citywest Hotel on Saturday, December 1.

After captaining Tyrone to TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate glory, while also claiming the Player of the Match award from the Final victory over Meath, Neamh Woods is nominated for the TG4 Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year.

Woods, who recently collected The Croke Park Player of the Month award for August, is joined on the shortlist by Tyrone team-mate and leading light in the Women’s Gaelic Players Association Gemma Begley and Meath captain Niamh O’Sullivan.

There are two Limerick players in the running for the Junior Players’ Player of the Year award, with TG4 All-Ireland winning captain Cathy Mee and Final Player of the Match Rebecca Delee both nominated along with Kate Flood of Louth.

The nominees in all three categories have all been selected by their fellow players, who could not vote for their own team-mates.

All three of the senior Players’ Player of the Year nominees are also in the running for prestigious TG4 All Star awards, along with Tyrone skipper Woods.

Similar Articles