O’Connor Elected to Athlete’s Committee

Ireland’s reputation in terms of integrity and reputation was given another boost yesterday when Cian O’Connor was chosen in an online poll of equestrian competitors to represent show jumping on the FEI Athletes’ Committee.

The newly elected Committee members, who take office from today, are:

Jumping: Cian O’Connor (IRL)
Dressage: Beatriz Ferrer-Salat (ESP)
Eventing: William Fox-Pitt (GBR)
Para-Dressage: Angelika Trabert (GER)
Endurance: Tarek Taher (KSA)
Vaulting: Kristina Boe (GER)
Reining: Francesca Sternberg (GBR)

The Athletes’ Committee members, who have been elected for a period of four years, also serve on the Technical Committees for each discipline governed by the FEI.

A total of 52 athletes from 26 countries on five continents stood for election, which was conducted via a secure online voting platform, where the CVs of all athlete candidates were made available.

This was the second time in the FEI’s history that athlete elections have been held, marking a 100% increase in participation in numbers of candidates and a 160% increase in terms of nations compared to 2014.

“The athletes’ viewpoint is central to the global decision making process”, FEI Secretary General Sabrina Ibáñez said.

“This is a committee made up of athletes and voted for by athletes. The calibre and experience of the newly elected Athletes Committee is impressive and will ensure that the global athletes’ community has its say and actively contributes to the development of equestrian sport.”



Read more about our 2018 Sport for Business Sport for Social Good Report and half-day conference on September 27th and reserve your place to hear about campaigns from the Manchester United Foundation, Unicef, Allianz, The Brand Fans and many more

Sign up today for our free daily news digest covering the commercial world of sport or discover the benefits of becoming a full member alongside the many leading organisations whom we serve.

Similar Articles