Rugby Players Gathering of Sponsors

Rugby Players Ireland will host it’s first major gathering since the launch of its new identity and the announcement of the departure of its CEO at the Annual Rugby Players Awards in Dublin next Wednesday, May 10th.

Apart from an impressive gathering of the best players in the country it is also a model on how to link different sponsors together around a single event.

Tadhg Furlong, Conor Murray, CJ Stander and Robbie Henshaw are the four nominees for the Zurich Players Player of the Year Award.

BNY Mellon and Mason Alexander are on board for the Women’s awards in XV and Sevens with All Ireland Ladies Football winner and crossover star Lindsay Peat in contention for the former.

Volkswagen will sponsor the Try of the Year Award.  Vodafone will present a Medal of Excellence Award while Druid’s Glen Resort and the Irish Times are also involved as sponsors of key awards.

Look back on a day with the U20 team at PwC

“To be nominated for the Players’ Player of the Year Award is such a fantastic achievement especially when it is voted for by your fellow players,” said Rob Kearney, a recipient of the Players’ Player of the Year Award in 2012 and current Chairman of Rugby Players Ireland.

“It brings a great deal of satisfaction that your colleagues appreciate your work and efforts. I would like to congratulate all the nominees, wish them the best and hope that they enjoy the night”.

“Yet again, an array of some of the best rugby talent in the world stand to join a distinguished list of past winners,” added Anthony Brennan, CEO of Zurich Life.

“We are delighted to support the tremendous work of these players and in the wider Irish rugby sense, by recognising top class performances at the Awards. Their respective efforts have been a source of great pride for us all at Zurich, given our connection to the game through Rugby Players Ireland.”



Similar Articles