Six First time Winners in Camogie All Stars

All-Ireland Senior champions Galway dominated the 2019 Camogie All-Stars team sponsored by Liberty Insurance, taking seven places on this year’s selection at the Citywest Hotel on Saturday night.

Six of the winners were gaining an All-Star Award for the first time and will now be able to look forward to a special trip to New York to play in the All-Stars Tour to the Big Apple, again sponsored by Liberty Insurance and taking place next month.

All-Ireland runners-up Kilkenny received four awards, with Waterford receiving two and Cork and Limerick completing the line-up with one award each.

Amongst the Galway winners in defence were goalkeeper Sarah Healy, right corner-back Shauna Healy, full-back and captain Sarah Dervan and right half-back Heather Cooney.

Aoife Donohue and Niamh Kilkenny took the midfield berths whilst forward Ailish O’Reilly completed the selections for the All-Ireland champions.

All-Ireland runners-up Kilkenny are represented by left corner-back Edwina Keane, half-back Claire Phelan, and forwards Denise Gaule and Michelle Quilty.
Waterford are represented by defender Lorraine Bray and forward Beth Carton.

The 2019 All-Stars team is completed with Limerick stalwart Niamh Mulcahy and Cork’s Amy O’Connor both rewarded with their first All-Stars Awards.

Galway manager Cathal Murray was named as Manager of the Year after guiding both the Senior and Intermediate teams to All-Ireland Finals and guiding the Senior team to All-Ireland glory.

Galway’s Niamh Kilkenny also collected the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior Players’ Player of the Year award following Player of the Match displays in both the All-Ireland Semi-Final and Final.

Pamela Greville of Westmeath was the recipient of the Intermediate accolade whilst Kerry’s Patrice Diggin was chosen as the Junior Players’ Player of the Year.

All three were selected after voting by intercounty players through the WGPA with the awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance.

All-Ireland Intermediate champions Westmeath lead the 2019 Soaring Stars Awards, represented by seven players with runners up Galway taking three, Tipperary two and one each for Down, Derry and Kerry.

“I’d like to congratulate all of tonight’s winners, as well as all of the nominees, for their fantastic contribution to a wonderful year of Camogie action,” said Camogie Association President Kathleen Woods.

“The All-Stars Awards recognise players that have thrilled us all during the 2019 Championships with their skill, athleticism, determination and commitment.”

“I also wish to congratulate the Camogie Association/WGPA Players’ Player of the Year Award winners on their wonderful individual achievements in 2019. These awards are a recognition of their individual performances within their teams and a reflection of the esteem that they are held in by their fellow players who selected tonight’s winners.”

“I’d like to acknowledge our partners Liberty Insurance for their continued support of our game and for sponsoring our upcoming All-Stars Tour to New York next month which is another exciting occasion for many of tonight’s winners to look forward to.”

“Our heartfelt congratulations go to all those who have won a Camogie All-Stars or Soaring Stars Award,” added Liberty Insurance’s Stuart Trotter.

“To win one of these awards reflects their skill, commitment and athleticism although all nominees deserve recognition for their exhilarating performances throughout the season.”

“The 2019 Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Camogie Championships were historical in terms of support and attendance. The attendance of 24,730 for the Finals in September represents a significant milestone. It is something that we as sponsors hope to see increase year-on-year.”

“The players here this evening, are role models in their communities whose accomplishments will inspire girls and young women to participate and stay involved in sport for years to come.”

“We now look forward to the Liberty Insurance All-Stars Tour to New York this coming November, which promises to be a fantastic match between the 2018 and 2019 All-Stars teams.”

Image Credit Sportsfile

Similar Articles