Young Sportsperson of the Year 2017

The shortlist was announced last night for the third and final category in the RTÉ Sport Awards for 2017.

The Young Sportsperson of the Year is a new category this year and will be chosen by the RTÉ Sports Department ahead of being revealed on Saturday night during a live broadcast from Television Centre.

The three nominees for the award are Gina Akpe-Moses, the 18-year-old Dundalk-raised sprinter who won 100m gold at the European U20 Championships; Kerry Minor Football star David Clifford who scored an incredible 4-04 against Derry in September’s Electric Ireland All Ireland Minor Final; and Mona McSharry, the 17 year old Sligo swimmer who claimed gold for Ireland at the World Junior Swimming Championships in Indianapolis.

Three very worthy nominees, any one of which would be a worthy winner and all of which it must be hoped will have a very bright future at the heart of Irish sport.

Here is a look back at their achievements…

Similar Articles