Sene Naoupu and Brian O’Driscoll have been appointed to World Rugby interim committees announced this week.

The two Irish players are among a host of leading players and coaches who have been appointed to World Rugby interim committees.

Naoupu has joined the Women’s Advisory Committee while O’Driscoll has been appointed to the board of Rugby World Cup Ltd.

IRFU Performance Director David Nuciforais joined on the new High-Performance XV’s Committee by former Munster and Rugby World Cup winning Head Coach Rassie Erasmus alongside Steve Hansen, Eddie Jones, Fabien Galthié, Mario Ledesma, Gregor Townsend and Lesley McKenzie.

Former Ireland manager Joe Schmidt was announced last week as taking up a new role as World Rugby’s Director of Rugby and High performance.

30 per cent of all committee members in the new intake will be women and three committees are to be chaired by female Council members.

“These interim committees will play an important role during this challenging and pivotal period for our sport,” said World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont.

“Further increasing the number of players, coaches, independent and skills-based committee members ensures a broad range of experience and expertise and reflects the diversity and values of our sport.”

“As we look ahead to Rugby World Cup 2021 and Rugby World Cup 2023, as well as rugby’s 200th birthday in 2023, the new committees will have a significant role to play in growing and developing the game and ensuring we realise our ambitions.”

The interim committees met for the first time earlier this month for inductions, updates and to start the business of guiding World Rugby’s decision-making process.


Sport for Business Partners