Katie Taylor has been named as the Irish Times / Sport Ireland Sportswoman of the Year for 2020.

It is here fifth time landing the award.

Olivia O’Toole, Irish soccer’s record goalscorer, has been awarded the Outstanding Achievement Award.

Each of the monthly winners was interviewed online by Des Cahill as the Awards lunch, always one of the best of the year, moved from the Shelbourne to the cloud, hopefully just for one year.

With three months in which no sport took place the Irish Times, to their credit, selected athletes for April, May and June based on work they had done within their communities and as role models.

The remainder of winners were chosen as is normally the case, based on their efforts and successes on the pitch, the track, the ring and the road.

November 2020 – Stephanie Meadow

October 2020 – Sanita Puspure

September 2020 – Martina McMahon

August 2020 – Katie Taylor

July 2020 – Ciara Mageean

June 2020 – Gina Akpe-Moses

May 2020 – Orlagh Farmer

April 2020 – Kellie Harrington

March 2020 – Diane Caldwell

February 2020 – Rachael Blackmore

January 2020 – Katie George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal

December 2019 – Fionnuala McCormack

Sport for Business Partners