Patrick Horgan, TJ Reid and Seamus Callanan have been nominated as the PwC All Stars Hurler of the Year for 2019.
The nominations for the team of the year have been released this morning with All Ireland Champions Tipperary garnering 11 places of the 45 that have been nominated.
The recently crowned champions are represented in every area of the field and received two more nominations than the Kilkenny team they beat in the final, whose season is rewarded with nine.
Leinster champions Wexford are next having been honoured with eight nominations while Laois’ Joe McDonagh Cup winning season is acknowledged with two nominations for goalkeeper Enda Rowland and defender Jack Kelly.
In all, eight counties make the cut with two awards each also for Cork, Dublin and Galway to round off the list.
The competitive nature of hurling over the past 24 months in particular is refelcted in their being only six of last year’s All Star Award winners making it back in this year’s nominations.

Those six are Eoin Murphy, Seán Finn, Graeme Mulcahy, Patrick Horgan, Cian Lynch and Richie English.
Adrian Mullen fromKilkenny, Kyle Hayes from Limerick and Rory O’Connor from Wexford are the three selected for the young player’s award.
“Congratulations to all 45 players who have secured a place on the short-list of nominations for the PwC Hurling All-Stars and those selected for Player of the Year awards also, after what was another great year for the game,” said GAA President John Horan.
“The standards set by the names on the lists helped drive the quality of the games we witnessed over the course of 2019 and I look forward to deliberations that will accompany the final selection of players in the weeks ahead before the awards are presented at the start of November.”
“All those nominated have been exceptional on the pitch throughout the championship and have given us all a memorable year of hurling. The work that these guys put in behind the scenes is phenomenal,” added Paul O’Flynn, CEO of the Gaelic Players Association.
This is the third year in which PwC have sponsored the All Star Awards and they have played a significant part in raising the game of the accolade through the launch of the App that people can use to make their own selections and see how they compare to the final 15.
“On behalf of PwC, I would like to congratulate each of the nominees for their huge commitment to excellence both on and off the field,” said Managing Partner Feargal O’Rourke.
“We are delighted to share in this celebration of Irish talent and are indebted to these players who made for such an exciting championship this year. The sacrifices made by these players to compete at such a high level deserve to be recognised and we are delighted to have the opportunity to show our appreciation.”
The final selection of 15 players will be made late next month and all players will be honoured at a celebration banquet in Dublin on Friday, November 1.
This year it is the turn of the Footballers to be named on the night. The nominations for those awards will be made shortly.