A capacity crowd of 82,000 is expected at Croke Park on Sunday for the 2022 GAA Football All-Ireland final between Galway and Kerry for probably the biggest day of the sporting calendar. It will be the first Football Final to be played in July since 1907.

With the Electric Ireland Minor Final moved off the bill there are more tickets for the two senior competing counties but the flip side is that there is potentially greater congestion getting into the ground.

With Clonliffe College no longer available for car parking, supporters are being asked to plan their journey and arrive earlier than usual to the stadium where the turnstiles will be open from the earlier time of 1 pm.

In a bid to encourage that earlier arrival the GAA is putting on pre-match musical entertainment starting at 1.30 pm Sharon Shannon and Mundy on stage as well as the Artane School of Music.

Kerry fans have an extra incentive to get there on time with this year’s 25th anniversary jubilee winning team being the Kerry side who defeated Mayo in the 1997 decider, a landmark victory that marked the Kingdom’s first senior success in 11 years. They will be introduced on the pitch before throw-in. That team featured Maurice Fitzgerald, Liam Hassett and Darragh O Sé in its ranks.

The Dublin 1995 and Meath 1996 jubilee teams who missed out on recognition because of Covid will also be invited and introduced to the crowd in the build-up to the game.

Another element of the build-up will be the marking of the 175th anniversary of the birth of Michael Cusack who was a driving force behind the formation of the GAA in 1884.

The throw-in for the final will be at 3.30 pm and it will be refereed by Seán Hurson from Galbally Pearses in what is the Tyrone official’s first senior final and having previously refereed All-Ireland finals at minor and U20 levels.

At half-time, 42 boys and girls from all over Ireland will participate in the GAA/INTO Respect Games.

The match will be televised live by RTÉ and Sky and will also be available around the world on GAAGo.

Kerry and Galway are first and third on the historic roll of honour for the Championship having won the title 37 and nine times respectively, their most recent wins being in 2014 and 2001.

The sponsors of the Championship are AIB, SuperValu and eir and we will have a look at how each of them celebrated the day in a weekend review on Sport for Business on Monday morning.