RTÉ has revealed the final shortlist of ten candidates for the RTÉ Sport Awards 2019 Sportsperson of the Year.

Darragh Maloney and Joanne Cantwell will present the Awards live on RTÉ One next Saturday 14 December at 9.30 pm.

Along with the Sportsperson of the Year award, the show will also see the Young Sportsperson of the Year, Team of the Year and Manager of the Year honoured as well as a new inductee to the RTÉ Sport Hall of Fame.

The shortlist of nominees contains six from individual sports and four from teams. It is an equal split between men and women. It represents the best of our sporting stars throughout the year.

for the RTÉ Sport Awards 2019 Sportsperson of the Year, in alphabetical order is as follows:

Tipperary’s All-Ireland winning captain finished his summer with a scoring contribution of 8-18, scoring eight goals in eight games, including a goal and two points in their final win over Kilkenny.

The inspirational Dublin stopper captained his side to a fifth All-Ireland title in-a-row. 37-year-old Cluxton had a phenomenal year, pulling off a string of vital saves and continuing to re-define the goalkeeper position.

Niamh Kilkenny collected the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior Players’ Player of the Year award following Player of the Match displays in both the All-Ireland semi-final and final, as the Tribeswomen claimed a third ever O’Duffy Cup with victory over Kilkenny.

Golfer Shane Lowry claimed his first major title in commanding fashion in the 148th Open at Royal Portrush. The Clara man battled miserable conditions to become the fifth Irish player to lift the Claret Jug. He also won his first tournament in three and a half years with victory in the Abu Dhabi Championship at the start of the year.

Ciara Mageean ran a personal best in the 1500m final at the Athletics World Championships in Doha, finishing in 10th place amongst a stellar field. She is only the second Irishwoman in history to make the world 1500m final, after Sonia O’Sullivan in 1997. The 26-year-old Portaferry runner also won her first indoor medal with bronze at the European Indoor Championships in Glasgow.

Rhys McClenaghan created history this year as he became the first Irish gymnast to medal at the World Championships, after claiming a bronze medal in the pommel horse in Stuttgart. He also booked a berth in the event at the 2020 Olympic Games by qualifying for the final earlier in the week.

Republic of Ireland star Denise O’Sullivan helped North Carolina Courage to the National Women’s Soccer League title in the USA for the second year running. She was also named the clubs ‘Most Valuable Player’ for the second campaign in a row. The 72 cap international was also in excellent form for country and was named ‘Women’s Senior International Player of the Year’.

The Latvian-born rower successfully retained her women’s single sculls gold medal at the Rowing World Championships in Austria. The Ballincolling resident also won a gold medal in the single sculls event at the European Rowing Championships in Lucerne, and in doing so, set a new European record.

Derry sprinter Jason Smyth scorched his way to his eighth World Para-Athletics Championships gold medal, winning the 100m in the T13 class in Dubai in a championship record time of 10.54 seconds. The 32-year-old was just .08 off his own world record time, set in London in 2012.

The Bray boxer made history by unifying all four world lightweight titles with a hard-fought, narrow victory over Delfine Persoon at Madison Square Garden in New York. With the victory the 33-year-old added the WBC lightweight title to her IBF, WBA and WBO belts. Katie wasn’t finished there though, as she moved up in weight to become only Ireland’s third two-weight world champion with a unanimous points victory over Christina Linardatou.

Read More: Check out our coverage of Awards Season

Image credit: Morgan Treacy, Inpho.ie