Each weekend we take a look back on the sporting highs from across Ireland and around the world through the medium of numbers.


The number of years since Cavan last won an Ulster Football title, before yesterday’s stunning turnover of a Donegal team that was fancied to give Dublin a rattle in this year’s All Ireland. Cavan overcame multiple black cards as they had in the semi-final against Down before finding late scores to seal the rhyme of history by completing the same semi-final line up of teams as was last seen in the 1920 season completed after the War of Independence in 1922. It would have been one of the biggest shocks for years but for…


The number of years since Tipperary last won a Munster Football Title before yesterday’s defeat of Cork in Pairc Uí Chaoimh. Wearing the historic colours of the Grangemockler club that Tipp had won in the ‘Great Challenge Match’ on Bloody Sunday 100 years ago, Tipperary went in as underdogs but emerged as the giant-killers who took down the giant-killing Cork side that had beaten Kerry two weeks previously. Safe to say there has never been a day quite like it in the history of the Football Championship.


After six weeks of Championship action, we are down to the last four teams in each of the four senior All Ireland Championships. Galway feature in three, the Ladies Football, Camogie and Hurling; Dublin feature in the Men’s and Ladies Football; Kilkenny in the Hurling and Camogie, Cork in the Camogie and the Ladies Football; Tipperary in the Men’s Football and Camogie. The remaining five places are taken by Cavan and Mayo in the Men’s Football, Limerick and Waterford in Hurling, and Armagh in the Ladies Football and


The number of consecutive defeats that Ireland have now suffered against England in Men’s International Rugby Union. Saturday’s defeat brings the losing streak to the same as was the case in 2014. The next meeting at the Aviva Stadium in March is important to win if we are to avoid a five in a row run last seen in the first year of the six nations 20 years ago.


Daniil Medvedev became the sixth winner in the last six years of the ATP Tour Finals in Tennis over the weekend.


Liverpool’s unbeaten record at home in the Premier League extended to 64, breaking the previous record set back in the halcyon days of the club’s history between 1979 and 1981.

Sport for Business Partners