Guinness is to present a ‘Player of the Championship’ accolade to the best player in this year’s Women’s Six Nations Championship, as well as in the men’s tournament.

This is the first time that the Women’s Championship has been given parity in this way and is another positive step for the sport and the tournament.

The Guinness Six Nations Player of the Championship is one of rugby’s greatest individual accolades and has been won by a host of the game’s top players including Brian O’Driscoll (2006, 2007, 2009), Stuart Hogg (2016, 2017), Shane Williams (2008) and Mike Brown (2014).

2019 saw the unveiling of Welsh second-row and captain Alun Wyn Jones as the first-ever Player of the Championship under Guinness’s six-year tenure as Title Sponsor, Official Beer and Official Responsible Drinking Partner of the tournament.

A shortlist of female players has been chosen by the Head Coach and Team Captain for each country, with the eventual winner of the Women’s Six Nations ‘Player of the Championship’ chosen by Six Nations Rugby and announced alongside the men’s winner on 6th November 2020.

The men’s shortlist was chosen by an expert panel of twelve distinguished ex-players and broadcasters from across the six participating countries. The men’s shortlist includes Grégory Alldritt, Antoine Dupont, Maro Itoje, Romain Ntamack, CJ Stander and Ben Youngs.

Fans can vote for their favourite male player online across all Guinness Six Nations digital platforms.

“2020 has been a year like no other, so being able to conclude both the Guinness Six Nations and Women’s Six Nations Championships has been a great triumph,” said Mark Sandys, Global Head of Beer at Diageo.

“We’ve seen both friendly rivalry and challenges both on and off the pitch, but throughout, rugby fans have been united in their shared love of the game.”

“We’re delighted that the talent in the Women’s Six Nations teams is recognised in the inaugural Player of the Championship award in particular.”

“On behalf of the GUINNESS team, we would like to wish all the superb nominees luck ahead of the voting and final decision in the coming days, and I encourage fans to get involved by casting their vote.”

Sport for Business Partners