Players from 10 different counties are represented in the final list of football nominations that make up the PwC All-Stars announced this morning.

The history-making, six-in-a-row All-Ireland champions Dublin head up the high-calibre 45-strong shortlist with 13 men throughout every area of the pitch. Dublin also have two contenders for Footballer of the Year with Brian Fenton and Ciaran Kilkenny nominated alongside Cillian O’Connor of Mayo.

Beaten finalists Mayo are next with 12 contenders for the final 15, and have secured a clean sweep of nominees for Young Footballer of the Year through Oisín Mullin, Tommy Conroy and Eugha McLaughlin.

After winning a first Ulster title since 1997, Cavan have been rewarded with seven nominations. The Breffni County’s previous winners are Ollie Brady (1978) and Dermot McCabe (1997).

Tipperary’s memorable march to a first Munster senior football title since 1935 is reflected in four nominations for defenders Kevin Fahy and Bill Maher; with Colin O’Riordan among the midfield contenders and captain Conor Sweeney named among the forward contenders.

Their last PwC All-Star in football was Michael Quinlivan in 2016.

Iain Corbett’s eye-catching exploits for Limerick in their league and championship displays in 2020 is honoured with inclusion among the 18 top defenders – a nomination for the Treaty footballers for the first time since John Galvin in 2010.

There are three nominations for Ulster finalists Donegal, two for Galway and one each for Armagh, Cork and Kerry.

“I want to acknowledge all of those who have been chosen among this list of nominees for the PwC All-Stars,” said GAA President John Horan.

“The 2020 season will go down in history for the backdrop against which it was played, and all of our players deserve great credit for producing the levels of skill and enjoyment we witnessed. Our thanks to PwC for helping ensure those heroics are recognised here.”

“Sincere congratulations to all of the 45 players named as nominees for the PwC All Stars on behalf of everyone at PwC,” added Managing Partner Feargal O’Rourke.

“It is a tremendous achievement to make the 45-strong shortlist and it is a testament to these players’ abilities, both individually and as part of a team, that they were selected. Despite all the obvious difficulties and obstacles, the 2020 Championship was packed with entertainment, brilliant games and outstanding individual performances and the nominees all played their part in this tremendous spectacle. Their nominations are all well-deserved and we wish them all every success in the new season ahead.”

“Warmest congratulations to all 45 footballers who have been nominated for PwC All-Star Awards for 2020, a year that none of us will ever forget,” said Paul Flynn, CEO of the Gaelic Players Association.

“While our games are all about the team, individual recognition through the PwC All-Stars, which are the pinnacle in individual achievement in Gaelic football, is a huge honour.”

The nominations were chosen by a panel of Gaelic Games correspondents from across, print, radio, TV and digital media, chaired by Uachtarán CLG John Horan.

The PwC All-Star nominations in hurling will be released tomorrow. It is intended that the presentation of the PwC All-Star awards will take place late in February in a TV show that will be in line with Covid-19 restrictions and will be confirmed in due course.


PwC All-Stars Football nominations 2020

David Clarke (Mayo), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Raymond Galligan (Cavan)

Davey Byrne, Michael Fitzsimons, Eoin Murchan, John Small, Robbie McDaid (all Dublin)
Oisín Mullin, Eoghan McLaughlin, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Patrick Durcan (all Mayo)
Ciarán Brady, Padraig Faulkner, Gerry Smith (all Cavan),
Kevin Fahy, Bill Maher (Tipperary)
Iain Corbett (Limerick), Aidan Forker (Armagh), Peadar Mogan (Donegal).

James McCarthy (Dublin), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Colin O’Riordan (Tipperary), Gearóid McKiernan (Cavan), Matthew Ruane (Mayo), Ian Maguire (Cork)

Niall Scully, Con O’Callaghan, Ciarán Kilkenny, Dean Rock, Seán Bugler (all Dublin)
Cillian O’Connor, Kevin McLoughlin, Ryan O’Donoghue, Aidan O’Shea, Tommy Conroy (all Mayo)
Martin Reilly, Thomas Galligan (Cavan)
Shane Walsh, Paul Conroy (Galway)
Michael Langan, Ciarán Thompson (Donegal)
Conor Sweeney (Tipperary), David Clifford (Kerry)


Sport for Business Partners