Eight-time All-Ireland winner and former Dublin footballer Philly McMahon was on hand to launch Eirgrid’s 2023 partnership as official Timing Partner of the GAA at Croke Park on Monday, along with four-time All Star, three-time Munster Championship winner and former Waterford star Michael Walsh.

Over the course of the 2023 season, EirGrid will pull the curtain back on the lives and times of some of the greatest players of recent times discussing life on and off the field of play. McMahon and Walsh, along with other household names, will discuss how their time in the GAA and living in their communities has shaped their lives.

EirGrid has also partnered with Kerry Under 20 Football Manager, Tomás O’Sé, to power the 2023 and fourth season of the Comhrá le Tomás podcast. Launching in June Tomás will once again interview some of the biggest names in the GAA to get their unique perspectives on the game both on and off the field of play.

“Our partnership with the GAA, which spans the EirGrid U20 Football All-Ireland Championship and the Senior Football and Hurling Championships, complements our community engagement work around the country,” said Eirgrid CEO Mark Foley.

“Our on-the-ground work with communities often brings us into contact with the local GAA club, so we know just how ingrained the Association is in communities around the country.”

“For the 2023 season, we will draw upon that narrative of community, one that resonates with both organisations, through the story of the community around the GAA.”

“We are proud of the long-standing relationship we have fostered with EirGrid through their sponsorship as Official Timing partner of the GAA and the EirGrid GAA U20 Football Championships,” added GAA President Larry McCarthy. We look forward to supporting them tell the stories of famous GAA players in the weeks ahead.”

2023 marks the eight-year for EirGrid as the Official Timing Partner of the GAA as part of an agreement that runs to 2025. EirGrid is also the sponsor of the EirGrid GAA Football All-Ireland U20 Championship. This year’s EirGrid U20 All-Ireland trophy was won by Kildare who defeated Sligo in a compelling final at Kingspan Breffni.